North Dakota is a fairly dense place, but some areas are more traveled than others. As a result, the risk of being involved in an accident is higher, and it is important to know what steps to take if you do find yourself in such a situation.
First Step: Stop and Check for Injuries
As soon as you are involved in an accident, the first thing to do is stop and check for any possible injuries. Make sure all parties involved are okay, and that appropriate medical care is being sought if necessary.
Second Step: Notify the Police
Once everyone is safe, contact the police as soon as possible. North Dakota law dictates that all motor vehicle accidents must be reported to the police if there is more than $1,000 worth of property damage or any injury/death.
Third Step: Exchange Information
Be sure to exchange information with all other parties involved in the accident. This should include names, contact info, driver’s license numbers, license plate numbers, vehicle descriptions, and insurance information.
Fourth Step: Document Evidence
Document any evidence at the scene of the accident such as photographs, skid marks, debris from impacted vehicles, and diagrams of the location or placement of cars after impact. This can help build a case if legal action must be taken.
Fifth Step: Contact Your Insurance
Once all information has been exchanged and the scene of the accident has been documented, be sure to contact your insurance provider as soon as possible. They will help with any additional steps needed to make a claim and get you back on the road quickly and safely.
If You are Injured as a Result of The Crash
If you are injured as a result of the crash, it is important to remember that you have certain rights and may be eligible for compensation.
Contact an experienced personal injury attorney who can help you understand the legal process and get the most favorable outcome possible.
How to Obtain a North Dakota Crash Report
North Dakota law requires all motor vehicle crashes to be reported to the appropriate city, county, or state agency. You may obtain a copy of your crash report by requesting it from the North Dakota Department of Transportation’s Records and Statistics Division. To get one, you must submit an official request along with the appropriate fee.
If your crash was a state reportable crash which is any crash with at least $4,000.00 in damage or involved and injury or fatality you may visit https://www.nd.gov/ndhp/contact-ndhp/request-crash-report to get a copy of the report for $7.
Otherwise check with the city police department where the accident occurred.
Following these steps after an accident in North Dakota can help ensure that you have all the necessary information to resolve any legal or insurance issues that may arise. Be sure to stay calm and remain aware of your surroundings at all times when driving. With a little preparation, you can make sure you’re prepared for anything on the road.
If you have been injured in a crash contact one of the best North Dakota personal injury attorneys now by calling Goldberg & Loren at (701) 409-1791 for a free consultation.